How to capture a peregrine in flight – pump up the ISO

Peregrines, up close

I’ve been frustrated lately with the number of shots that come out sharp. I had been using ISO 400 to keep the detail in the photos of the peregrines, but today I decided to double it to 800.  This allows me to shoot at 1/4000 sec instead of 1/2000.  It seems to have helped.  I still have to deal with some air turbulence, but I can pretty much guarantee that there is no camera shake involved in the image. I have turned on luminance noise reduction at this ISO setting, but I think the results are still very good. I’m using Photoshop CS5 and Adobe Camera Raw to process these images.

Let me know what you think.

Click on any image to see it full size.

Peregrines, up closePeregrines, up close

You can find the complete series of Dapper Dan and Diamond Lil perched and in flight at diary page 5-1-2012 at raptor-gallery dot com

4 thoughts on “How to capture a peregrine in flight – pump up the ISO

  1. Pingback: Peregrine falcons back in Friesland | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. I think all of your bird photos are awesome! I’m constantly trying to take pictures of kites, hawks & whatever other bird of prey I see. But I’m an amateur photographer & haven’t yet learned much about my camera settings. I have a Nikon DX 55-200mm. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

Leave a Reply

